The World As Mare Sees It...
Pretty things. 2007-06-08

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Today, a gentleman of a certain age sitting in his car called out in accented English, "Hello, my love!" as I walked by him in the parking lot. It made me happy enough that my eyes probably lit up, and I flashed him a happy smile and returned his hello.

Last summer, this same man, in that same parking lot, got out of the car next to mine as I was putting on my seat belt and getting ready to drive away. He said, into my open window, "You look like Sophia Loren with those big sunglasses. Veddy nice. What language you are?" And I told him that I was Italian, and he said, "Ah! Pasta fagioli! Buona sera! Herrrre, hyeve a candy. Bella bella!" And then he passed me a wrapped mint.

God. Some days are just brilliant.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano