The World As Mare Sees It...
I Made My Mommy Miss A Decade 2003-12-23

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

My mother and I generally present ourselves to each other before we leave the house for work each morning. Approval or "get that thing off before you humiliate yourself further" is given, and then we go on our merry way.

This morning, she asked, after trying something new with her makeup, "Is my face too colourful?"
"No, you're ok. But even if it were, you'd be fine. Colour is back."
"What?"
"Colour is back. Blush is back. Eighties style makeup is very in right now."
"So, what you're saying is that 'gaudy' is in again."
"Pretty much, yeah. Very '80's."
"You mean '70's."
"No, Mother. Eighties. We've already done the seventies. We're progressing again."
"What?! What are you talking about?"
"Hi, the silhouette dresses everyone has been wearing for the last two years? And have you not seen my flippy feathered Farrah hair lately? Seventies influence, Mummy. Now we're into black and pink legwarmers and ruffled mini-skirts."
"Damn."
"What?"

"Are you saying I missed the seventies again?"

My Mother, poppets. Three children from 1974 to 1980... no wonder she missed the best of Halston.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano