The World As Mare Sees It...
Tuna and Introspection 2002-10-08

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

I know this sounds weird, but trust me; it's pretty tasty.

In a fit of desperation, I concocted this salad-type thing that really stretches the imagination of flavour, and yet, the unlikely ingredients really work. (Look, when you're on a diet, you get creative!)

-100 grams tuna, drained. (That's one smallish can.)

-About 50 or 60 grams of cucumber, (that's about the length of your baby finger) sliced and quartered.

-Half a pepper, sliced and diced (colour of your choice, although I prefer red or orange because they're sweeter)

-Half an apple, sliced and diced

-2, maybe 3 teaspoons of salsa.

Mix like hell.

Eat now, or refrigerate for later.

You got your proteins, your fruits, your vegetables... if you want, you can shred some lettuce into it, and that will give you some roughage which, as we all know, is vital to having a good day.

(Now that I think about it, you may even want to add a splash of lemon juice if you find it too dry. Me, I don't, but you're different.)

* * *

Thanksgiving is this weekend. I'm going to cheat on my diet and splurge. Instead of having three and a half ounces of turkey, I'm gonna have four! Hell, I may even make part of that dark meat! Oh yeah, baby! I'm a rebel!

* * *

So, I answered one of those surveys yesterday.

You know the ones. They get endlessly passed from email to email, and you get 8 copies of it because everyone who gets it thinks that you want to know whether they think thunderstorms are cool or scary, and that they prefer chocolate over vanilla. (Which to be honest, I always do want to know, because I'm a sucker for those things. Also, I like talking about myself.)

Anyway, this one was a little different. It asked me whether I would die for someone I loved.

Yes, I know. Don't groan. Just think about it for a minute.

Would you?

Honestly, I don't know, but to tell you the truth, my instinctive answer points to the negative.

Now, I don't know if that's because I don't have a shred of self-sacrifice in me, and that I'm selfish and cowardly, or if it's just because I don't know if there's anyone in my life for whom I'd throw myself into traffic, or some such thing.

I DO love, don't get me wrong. There are plenty of people who are up there on my "I'd Do Anything For" list.

But, now I'm wondering if I have to change "Anything" to "Almost Anything"

And that's enough introspection for now, because I'm having one of those days where, if I don't see it in a mirror, I don't want to know about it.

Not that I�m shallow or anything.

G'day, y'all.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano