The World As Mare Sees It...
Slapstick and Sentimentality 2002-10-16

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Wednesday, 8:31 a.m.

Operation Mini-Skirt Status: -22 lbs.

Days to England: 28

Mood: Not bad

I spoke to an old friend yesterday. Hamlet. I like to think we were the closest of closest when we were younger... but we probably weren't. Regardless, we had a certain camaraderie that carried me through a good number of years.

Our friendship was kind of like a really comfortable, really old patchwork quilt. You keep it around, ignoring the fact that it's not the warmest of things in the world, and just toss another blanket on top. Then, eventually, the seams on the patchwork start to split, and you end up needing yet another blanket. Finally, the quilt gets so old and ratty; you put it in the back of your closet and take comfort in the warmth you find in the other covers. After a while, you realise that all your warmth was coming from those the whole time, and all the quilt was doing was messing up your bed.

Still, every so often, in a fit of sentimentality, you pull out that old patchwork, and see if you can't put a few stitches in the split seams...

* * *

So, I think I've got a Halloween costume planned... I'm not sure, but I think it's do-able. I'm going to have to have to procure a red wig... which will leave me with some 'splainin' to do....

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano