The World As Mare Sees It...
My Day Off. 2002-12-12

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Operation Mini-Skirt: -43.2 lbs.
Mood:Tired. Frustrated. (And this is after a day off, too!)

Sleyefox and Mandy were just here, meeting with my sister and I, so we could discuss New Year's Eve.

What IS it about that night that puts so much pressure on people? Who to spend it with, where to go, who to freakin'kiss at midnight?

I just want to have a good and simple time. I want to put on something pretty, and dance my arse off. I want to ply myself and my friends with drinks, and then toast with champagne at midnight. Is that too much to ask? So far, it looks like that's what the plan is, but the mission to find a locale doesn't bear thinking about.

And that's all I have for you tonight.

I spent the day being Mother's Helper in the kitchen... the two of us baked so much, if the oven could talk, it would have been screaming bloody murder.

Christmas baking. And not just Christmas baking, but Christmas Baking From The Old World. Desserts I can't spell, because the only name I have for them are in a southern Italian dialect, and phonetically, it all just looks weird. Stuff my family enjoyed in small town Italy, fifty years ago. Which is fine, I suppose, because I like a lot of it as well... but the pressure is on to learn how to do it all, otherwise the tradition dies with my mother's generation.

You know, I really don't want that to happen. I want the kids I'm going to have one day to look forward to calzingerre and castagnelle and ciuatide but for the love of God, do you know how HARD it is to make them? I mean, my mother and I both took holiday days to just start the Christmas baking... we didn't even get close to getting it all done!

Right. Another thought for another day.

I think I'm just going to go to bed now, so that I can be fresh for a work day tomorrow that will be infinitely easier than the one I spent in my kitchen today!

G'night, y'all.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano