The World As Mare Sees It...
MeMeMeMeMeMeMe 2005-09-08

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

The inimitable and lovely Luvabeans did a little survey-meme thingy-pop today, and mentioned that she owed one to sweet Min. And that's when I slapped my forehead and realized that I do, too. So, with that in mind...

What was I doing 10 years ago?
I was 21, and in my second year of journalism. I worked part-time in a pretentious little bistro that would make me hate the word crepe for years afterward. There was a Nice Italian Boy in my life, but he wouldn't be around for much longer. My biggest problem was the size of my arse.

What was I doing 5 years ago?
Five years ago right now, I'd only lost my grandmother a month before. I was confused about my sense of loss, because it was stronger, and hurt more, than I'd anticipated. It doesn't matter how much you're prepared for something like that; you're never really prepared.

What was I doing 1 year ago?
A year ago? Doing the same thing I'm doing now, I suppose, but with more panic, more fear, more sadness. Work was overwhelming, and even though it was only September, I couldn't wait for the year to be over. Also, the size of my bottom was overtaking my brain.

What was I doing yesterday?

Yesterday I went to work, I exercised, and spent the evening at a funeral home, mourning the loss of a man who once gave me a Cookie Monster book bag. Actually, to tell you the truth, I wasn't so much mourning as I was lending awkward support to my aunt, who's now lost two brothers in two years. Nobody should have to endure that kind of sadness.

What am I doing today?
Today was different. Though I did the same thing I did yesterday, with the work and exercising and the funeral home, I managed to start earlier, brave a deluge of rain, and face the day with just a little bit more moxie. Sometimes, it's all about moxie. It makes the size of my ass easier to deal with.

Five snacks I enjoy:
Triscuits
Taralli Scaldati
Dried apricots
Popcorn with salsa flavouring
Four hundred tonnes of chocolate

Five bands I like:
Oasis
Pulp
Queen
Bedouin Soundclash
T.A.T.U.

Five things I would do with a million dollars:
Give to various charities
Spend three or four months at one of those deluxe fat farm places. Emerge gorgeous and happy, knowing how to do yoga
Give big, fat envelopes to my parents, my sister, my brother
Buy a solid house in a solid neighborhood
Fly all my geographically challenged friends to London so we could do it all over again.

Five locations I would like to run away to:
Italy
Spain
New York City
Australia
France

Five bad habits:
I blow bubbles with my gum. I'm 12 and gross.
Every so often, I give myself a manicure... with my teeth.
I eat far too much for my own good, even when I'm not hungry
I look into every mirror I pass
I crack my neck like a chiropractor's nightmare.

Five things I like doing:
Dancing
Reading
Being the centre of attention
Eating ice cream slowly, so that it's a little bit melty
Laughing

Five TV shows I like:
Queer As Folk
The West Wing
ER
Family Ties (Why aren't there re-runs? They should get on that! Alex P. Keaton is my boyfriend!)
Cheers

Five famous people I would like to meet:
Ewan McGregor
Queen Elisabeth II
Katherine Hepburn (Does it matter if they're dead?)
Barbra Streisand
Noel Gallagher

Biggest joys in my life at the moment:
The prospect of my sister's wedding
That I am somehow finding the energy for, and joy in, going to Curves 3 times a week
The shoes I bought in Iowa a couple of weeks ago
My impending trip to San Diego for JournalCon. (You're coming, right?)
The idea that one day, I may make out with Matt Damon

Five favourite toys:
My flat iron
My pretty little computer that fits in my pretty red bag, and looks so good being toted around
This new mascara I just bought
My left hearing aid
My right hearing aid

Who's up next? You're it!

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano