The World As Mare Sees It...
Different days, different forms. 2005-11-22

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Some days are more difficult than others, you know?

Everybody has been talking about time, and how we desperately need to be patient with our grief, as the days that pass are the only things that will dull the sharp edges of the hurting away.

What they don't tell you is that now, after a tiny fistful of time, when you've survived with this new life longer than you ever thought you would, you raise your head, and look around and realize that after all this time, the answer at the end of the day still the same. He's still not here.

Is it possible that on some deep, buried level inside of me, it hasn't sunk in yet? That after all this time, and through all of this, I, a fully functioning, relatively intelligent adult, harboured the idea that something could change and my brother could come back? Is it possible that I'm just waking up to the definition of 'not here anymore' only now, 7 weeks later? I mean, logically, I understand that Frankie is gone. I understand that he�s gone forever, that he�s not coming back, that we are without Frankie from now on. I�ve known this for 48 days now.

So why, why, why do I feel like I�m just stumbling on that fact now? It�s like I�ve come back from the dentist after having some work done, and it�s two hours later, and my mouth is starting to tingle awake. Except, while I was frozen, I started clenching my teeth, and now that I�m not anymore, my jaw hurts like the bloody fires of hell.

In some peculiar and agonizing way, I think the word �dead� just made itself clear to me.
Dead is forever. How could I not know that?

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano