The World As Mare Sees It...
Soul search 2006-11-08

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

This is going to sound ridiculous.

This is going to be ridiculous, but at this point, I can't think of any other way to get this maggot out of my head.

Back in '98, back in London, Stella bought a couple of compilation tapes. No, seriously, they were real tapes, with the two wheels and the tapey thing and everything. I think they were all of three quid each, and as we didn't have a CD player that wasn't my Discman in the hovel we were living in, the casettes did quite nicely.

Anyway, she bought this country compilation - two casettes labelled The Best Country Songs Ever or some such thing. I, obviously, wanted nothing to do with it. Country and me, we don't get along. But she also bought another two-cassette compilation under the same series, which I vaguely remember being called The Best Soul Songs Ever.

That particular hour or so of music is how I fell in love with Me and Mrs. Jones... oh, we had a thing going on. And I'm pretty sure I used to wave my fingernails dry to I Heard it Through the Grapevine, but I can't be sure.

And there was this other song. Look, I can't remember what it's called or how it went or who it's by. All I remember is that it was one word, possibly 4 or 5 letters long, it started with 'A' and it was one of the prettiest things I'd ever heard. I loved the hell out of that song. I loved it so much, it fell out of my head, just like all the other things in my life I need to remember and don't.

I know, poppets. I've got problems. But still... can you help me? The gratitude I would show you knows no bounds. Can anybody give me any idea what the hell the name of this tune is?

10 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano