The World As Mare Sees It...
The Friday Five 2003-10-10

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Every so often, the need to talk about myself is aided by things like The Friday Five...

1. Do you watch sports? If so, which ones?

I'm not one to turn to a scheduled athletic event. Watching all those people in superior physical condition does nothing but depress me and make me want to throw a blanket over myself and hide. However, anything with ceremony and artistic content makes me happy. I used to tune into figure skating quite regularly, but the politics of it has turned me off. Now I'm all about dancesport - Ballroom and Latin dancing, if you will. The events are not often broadcast, but if they are, I'll be in front of the TV, staring in wonder and envy and awe.
And of course, every four years, I get on the World Cup bandwagon with the thousands of other Italo-Torontonians, crowd the bars and cafes in Little Italy, and scream for mighty Italia until we're hoarse - or until they lose the penalty shoot-out. Whichever comes first.

2. What/who are your favourite sports teams and/or favourite athletes?

I can't say I have any, but like I say, I'll root for Italy every four years. Oh, and the Toronto Maple Leafs every year, when we start hitting the playoff games, and they inexplicably move forward, and I'm forced to watch because changing the channel would be a mortal sin. Also, it's fun to scream at the TV. But I don't scream myself hoarse with them - they never make it very far.
Favourite athletes? Again, I've no athletic heros, unless you count the fact that 5 years ago, while I was living in England during the '98 World Cup, I was having strange and delicious dreams involving David Beckham, Michael Owen and various pieces of fruit.

3. Are there any sports you hate?

Baseball. Baseball, with every fibre of my being. And I don�t understand football � the American kind. There are no nets anywhere! And they run around and hit each other, and everything lasts about four seconds before someone starts bleeding, and they have to stop again. And really, how many coaches does one team need?

4. Have you ever been to a sports event?

I've been to see the Blue Jays twice. Well, one and a half games, actually. I managed to sit through the first game, but the next time I was forced to watch one, I made it to the 5th inning, and then couldn't take it anymore. I've also seen the Toronto Raptors, which was fun, I have to admit. Halfway into the second quarter, I was trash talkin' with the best of them. Basketball would have more possibilities if the guys weren't so tall, though. I'm only 5'4, poppets! How can I date someone who tops me by half? Oh, and I did see a football (soccer) game played between English Company England, and the company in the next unit over. It was five years ago, but I�ll remember it �til the day I die, because every time someone scored, the ref would light up a smoke, open a Stella, and rip off his shirt � all the while, continuing to referee the game. Ah, Gary. He had a genuine Cockney accent, a heart of gold, and a chest that was carved by Michelangelo. Jaysus, he was hot!

5. Do/did you play any sports (in school or other)? How long did you play?

You're kidding, right?

* * *

Happy Thanksgiving, my fellow Canadians. Enjoy your long weekend!

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano