The World As Mare Sees It...
Honoured and stuff 2003-03-14

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

I have always wanted to write.
However, I fell into the despicable habit of going into extended periods of non-writing funks, just because I didn�t like what I was putting down on paper. Then, when the odd and random day occurred that I would get a wonderful spurt of creative energy, along with an idea that seemed to have no problem taking shape and form in my head, I couldn�t make it take the same kind of shape and form on paper because� well, because my adjectives were dead. Seriously. You can�t just start running a marathon if you haven�t trained in six months, can you? Same thing. The less I wrote, the less I could write. Then, one day, I stumbled upon Weetabix�s diary and I thought, �How wonderfully cool.�
I read on, and thought, �I would love to write like this, as often as this. I would like to be witty and poignant, strong yet vulnerable; I want to prove my intelligence and laugh at my utter stupidity at the same time, and I want to be able to do it all the time.
It�s all just a work in progress, really. But I�m writing almost every day about anything that catches my fancy. I�m stretching my adjectives, and I�ve found that my Other Writing, my Little Stories, my Unpublished Novels� well, I think they�re getting better. So, Weetabix, thanks for inspiring me. And thanks for giving me some basic HTML lessons. I�m bolder for it! Why am I bringing this up now, do you ask? Well, yesterday, she signed my guestbook. Damn, y�all! I�m freakin� honoured!

* * *

Right, so see if you can make sense of one of Mummy�s off-hand comments over breakfast this morning.
�I don�t think that BMW or any of those high end car companies should make UVs or big cars--�
�You mean SUVs, Mother?�
Yes, SUVs. Or big off-road type cars. Or Jeepy type vehicles.�
�Why, exactly, Mother?�
Well, it takes away from the prestige.�

I just shook my head and continued to eat my toast.

* * *

It looks like Teacher and I are actually going to get out of town this weekend. The excitement is unbearable, if only because I�ve made a major decision. On Monday, Operation: Mini-Skirt comes to life again, so I�m going to eat all weekend long. Right. Like that�ll be any different that my behaviour for the last four weeks�

Have a lovely, foody weekend, poppets. You know I love you. But you know I love carbs more.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano