The World As Mare Sees It...
It's Friday. Now what? 2003-09-05

Latest

Older

Notes

Guestbook

Notify!

Profile

Contact

Design

Diaryland

Days to England: 6
Operation Mini-Skirt Status: 8 lbs. to go to my first goal

This week has me confused. It was only four days long, yet seemed to last 6 weeks. Furthermore, I didn't have enough time to do everything I wanted to do. Ugh. I'm so confused! I've got a weekend coming up, and I don't know if I'm looking forward to it or not. I've got things I should do, thing I want to do, things I have to do, and no energy to actually do any of it. What the hell is going on?!

Packing. I've got to pack. It's a five-day trip, and I should dress to go to work. How hard can that be? Except... hi... no clothes. Seriously. This chilly weather that's come 'round has me in a tizzy, because I don't know what the hell to put on in the morning. I may have to do some emergency shopping tomorrow - close my eyes to the price and the size, just try some things on, throw a credit card at the clerk, and get out. I hate the idea of buying clothes that I hope are too big for me in two months, but I'm regarding it as punishment. I figure, in a serves-me-right kind of way, it's justice being served for my summer of gluttony. There's a bit of comfort in that, really. Just like spending exorbitant amount of money on clothes with single digit size tags will one day be like a Holy Reward (except I won't have to die for it), being forced to throw away a bit of coin on emergency-wear will teach me a lesson I won't soon forget.

I'm far too Catholic sometimes.

* * *

Ooh! Here's some news! I finally made an appointment to see an audiologist, and I'm going to get new hearing aids! Whee! New ears! Whispers and cell phones and white noise, oh my! I don't fancy what they're going to cost me, but I can't do it anymore. I hate the fact that I don't go to movies because the majority of the theatres haven't jumped on the captioning bandwagon and I never know what the flick is about.

Do you know that if I hadn't read the book as a child, I'd have no idea what The Grinch was about?! Oh, and remember that film, early '90's, I think it was, with one of the Baldwin brothers? Three of Hearts? Yeah, well, in the early '90's, my ears worked a hell of a lot better than they do now. Anyway, for reasons unknown, I adored the flick. A couple of years ago, I saw the video on sale, and on a whim, bought it. Except... except... not captioned! Not bloody captioned! Oh, and Gods and Monsters? Nuh uh. Can't quote a single line. I hear it's a great movie, but it seems to me that they all need to be working on their enunciation. Dogma? Nope. Matt and Ben (before J.Lo when he was still cool), completely wasted on me, because they're all mumbly.
But I'm not bitter. Nope. Not me. Not bitter at all.

So, anyway, I really hope I get the aids before JournalCon. It'd suck giant rocks if I met all these great people, and they were low-speakers.

Right. Happy Friday, my beauties. Do something that will make you happy.

0 comments so far

Beyond Our Borders
Ray in Austin
Red Nose
mopie
JenFu
timbrat
fulminous
Moronosphere
margaret cho
little owl
the product junkie



previous - next

Check In - 2011-03-25
Ain't love grand? - 2010-07-26
Airing things out - 2010-02-22
Wierd. - 2010-02-19
Same old same old (arse) - 2010-02-16

iimage: Jack Vettriano